Do you also translate into several languages?

Yes! We offer (almost) all languages, as our pool of translators currently comprises more than 400 freelance translators, interpreters and language editors throughout the world. The list of languages we cover can be found here. If you can’t find the language you are looking for, please ask your personal project manager at medax for help.
In addition, we offer the simultaneous processing of collective orders in multiple languages. You can obtain more detailed information here.

What is a standard line?

We generally calculate our price on the basis of the number of standard lines, whereby one standard line consists of 52 key strokes, including spaces.

How long is a standard page?

A standard page consists of 30 standard lines (one standard line in turn consisting of 52 key strokes, including spaces).

How many standard pages can a translator translate per day?

We assume that a translator can translate around five standard pages per day. However, this figure is only a rough estimate and can vary depending on the difficulty of the text concerned.

Do you also offer certified translations?

Yes! For many language combinations, we work together with certified translators, who can officially sign and stamp your translated text to confirm that it is a true and complete translation of the original. (See also the subject of “medax certification“)

How quickly can you give me an offer?

After receiving your request for an offer, we will immediately prepare a detailed quotation on the same working day and, depending on the complexity of the order or format of the text concerned, make you an offer within 1-2 hours.
Please use our convenient order form if you are a new customer, or get in touch with the personal project manager at medax who assisted you with previous orders.

Do you also offer interpreting services?

Yes! We also work together with interpreters and will be glad to book them for your event.

What is the difference between a certified translation and a certification?

If your document is to be submitted to the authorities, in most cases you will need a certified translation. This means that it must be translated by a translator who is certified in Germany. The translator will then sign and stamp the document to confirm that it is a true and complete translation of the original.
On the other hand, if you need confirmation that your document was prepared by an experienced translator or language editor, e.g. for internal corporate reasons, a certificate is usually sufficient. This is issued and signed directly by medax.
If you have a specific question, please get in touch with your personal project manager at medax, who will be glad to give you more detailed information and provide you with competent advice on this subject.

Can you compile terminology lists?

Yes! If you require this service, we will be glad to compile terminology lists (glossaries) according to your in-house specifications, with or without the aid of our CAT tools, which will, of course, be applied in your subsequent translation projects. The time spent on creating and managing your glossary will be charged on an hourly basis. If you are interested in this subject, please get in touch with your personal project manager.

What does the “4-eyes principle” actually mean?

The 4-eyes principle involves translation by a very experienced specialist translator whose mother tongue is the target language, followed by correction of the language and specialist aspects by a second specialist translator, the language editor (reviewing). Both steps are included in our price.

Will my documents be treated confidentially?

As a matter of principle, we will treat your documents strictly confidentially. Our translators also have to sign a secrecy agreement. We will be glad to send you a secrecy agreement specific to your company. In this case, please get in touch with your personal project manager.

What does “CAT” actually mean?

The abbreviation “CAT” stands for “computer-aided translation“ or also “computer-assisted translation“. This involves tools that can provide useful help in the translation process and ensure consistency in the terminology used. Examples of such programs are SDL Trados or Multitrans. You can find further information on the subject of CAT systems here.

I need a ready-for-press text, but I don’t have enough time for processing the graphics after the translation has been done. Can you help me?

It’s quite simple. If you provide us the text to be translated in the form of an InDesign file, we will also carry out the desktop publishing after completing the translation! The time required for this will be charged at an hourly rate. You will receive your translated document as a ready-for-press InDesign file that is not only fully consistent with your source text in content but also in appearance – and all without the time-consuming and cost-intensive alternative of employing a graphic designer.

FAQs

Übersetzen Sie auch in mehrere Sprachen?

Ja! Wir bieten (fast) alle Sprachen an, denn unser Übersetzerpool umfasst derzeit über 400 freiberufliche Übersetzer, Dolmetscher und Redigierende weltweit. Unser Sprachangebot finden Sie hier. Sollten Sie Ihre Wunschsprache dort einmal nicht finden, wenden Sie sich bitte trotzdem gerne an Ihre persönliche Ansprechpartnerin.

Zudem bieten wir die zeitgleiche Bearbeitung von mehrsprachigen Sammelaufträgen an. Näheres dazu erfahren Sie hier.

Was ist eine Normzeile?

Unsere Preise berechnen wir in der Regel auf Normzeilenbasis, wobei eine Normzeile (NZ) aus 52 Anschlägen inkl. Leerzeichen besteht.

Wie lang ist eine Normseite?

Eine Normseite besteht aus 30 Normzeilen (eine Normzeile wiederum aus 52 Anschlägen inkl. Leerzeichen).

Wie viele Normseiten kann ein Übersetzer pro Tag übersetzen?

Wir gehen davon aus, dass ein Übersetzer etwa fünf Normseiten pro Tag übersetzen kann. Diese Angabe stellt jedoch nur einen Richtwert dar und kann demzufolge je nach Text variieren.

Bieten Sie auch Beglaubigungen an?

Ja! Für viele Sprachkombinationen arbeiten wir mit beeidigten Übersetzern zusammen, die für ihre übersetzten Texte Beglaubigungen ausstellen können. (s.a. Thema „medax-Zertifizierung“)

Wie schnell kann ich von Ihnen ein Angebot bekommen?

Nach Erhalt Ihrer Angebotsanfrage erstellen wir Ihnen umgehend am selben Arbeitstag einen detaillierten Kostenvoranschlag, je nach Komplexität des Auftrags oder Format des Textes binnen 1-2 Stunden.

Bitte verwenden Sie als Neukunde dafür bequem unser online Angebotsformular oder wenden Sie sich direkt an die persönliche Ansprechpartnerin, die Sie bereits von früheren Anfragen kennen.

Bieten Sie auch Dolmetschdienstleistungen an?

Ja! Wir arbeiten auch mit Dolmetschern zusammen und können diese gerne für Ihre Veranstaltung buchen.

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen einer Beglaubigung und einer Zertifizierung?

Soll ein Dokument bei einer Behörde eingereicht werden, benötigen Sie in den meisten Fällen eine beglaubigte Übersetzung. Das bedeutet, ein in Deutschland beeidigter Übersetzer muss dafür eingesetzt werden, der dann am Ende des Dokuments mit Stempel und Unterschrift die Richtigkeit und Vollständigkeit der Übersetzung bestätigt.

Wenn Sie hingegen z.B. aus firmeninternen Gründen eine Bestätigung benötigen, dass Ihr Dokument von einem versierten Übersetzer bzw. Redigierenden angefertigt wurde, ist ein Zertifikat meist ausreichend. Dieses wird direkt von medax ausgestellt und unterschrieben.

Bitte wenden Sie sich im konkreten Fall an Ihre persönliche medax-Ansprechpartnerin, die Ihnen gerne nähere Informationen gibt und Sie kompetent zu diesem Thema berät.

Können Sie Terminologielisten erstellen?

Ja! Gerne erstellen wir auf Wunsch mit oder ohne Hilfe unserer CAT-Tools Terminologielisten (Glossare) nach Ihren firmenspezifischen Vorgaben, die dann selbstverständlich auch bei Ihren weiteren Übersetzungsaufträgen berücksichtigt werden. Der Zeitaufwand für die Erstellung und Datenpflege Ihres Glossars wird auf Stundenbasis berechnet. Sollten Sie Interesse an diesem Thema haben, wenden Sie sich bitte gerne an Ihre persönliche Ansprechpartnerin.

Was bedeutet eigentlich „4-Augen-Prinzip“?

Das sog. 4-Augen-Prinzip umfasst die Übersetzung durch einen sehr versierten Fachübersetzer mit der Zielsprache als Muttersprache und die anschließende sprachliche und fachliche Korrektur durch einen zweiten Fachübersetzer, den sog. Redigierenden (Revision). Beide Schritte sind in unserem Preis inklusive.

Werden meine Dokumente vertraulich behandelt?

Selbstverständlich. Ihre Dokumente werden bei uns grundsätzlich streng vertraulich behandelt. Unsere Übersetzer unterliegen ebenfalls einer Geheimhaltungsvereinbarung. Gerne können wir Ihnen zusätzlich eine auf Ihr Unternehmen zugeschnittene Geheimhaltungsvereinbarung zusenden. Bitte wenden Sie sich in diesem Fall an Ihre persönliche Ansprechpartnerin.

Was bedeutet eigentlich „CAT“?

Die Abkürzung „CAT“ steht für „Computer-Aided Translation“ oder auch „Computer-Assisted Translation“. Es handelt sich dabei um Tools, die den Übersetzungsprozess hilfreich unterstützen sowie Terminologiekonsistenz gewährleisten können. Beispiele hierfür sind MemoQSDL Trados oder Multitrans. Weitere Informationen zum Thema CAT-Systeme finden Sie hier.

Ich brauche einen druckreifen Text, mir fehlt aber die Zeit für die grafische Nachbearbeitung der Übersetzung. Was können Sie für mich tun?

Ganz einfach: wenn Sie uns den zu übersetzenden Text als InDesign-Datei zur Verfügung stellen, übernehmen wir für Sie im Anschluss an die Übersetzung auch die DTP-Bearbeitung! Der hierfür anfallende Zeitaufwand wird auf Stundenbasis abgerechnet. Sie erhalten also auf Wunsch ein druckreifes übersetztes Dokument in InDesign, das Ihrem Ausgangstext nicht nur inhaltlich sondern auch grafisch genau entspricht – und das ganz ohne den zeit- und kostenintensiven Umweg über einen Grafiker.